Anwar sworn in as Malaysia’s 10th Prime Minister

Screen grab from live telecast courtesy of RTM.

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 24 – Pakatan Harapan Chairman, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was sworn in as Malaysia’s 10th Prime Minister at a ceremony held at the Dewan Singgahsana Kecil at Istana Negara today.

The swearing-in ceremony in front of His Majesty, Sultan Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah and the Queen, Tunku Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah started at 5pm.

Anwar took his oath to perform his duty as the Prime Minister of the country, witnessed by several guests including the wife of Anwar, Dato Seri Dr. Wan Azizah and Members of Parliament at the ceremony, which went smoothly.

Sultan Abdullah consented to Anwar’s appointment in accordance with Article 40(2)(a) and Article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution. His Majesty, who had suggested the formation of a unity government had called for a meeting with the Conference of Rulers before making the decision today.

This followed days of uncertainty in the country following the 15th General Election where no single party had garnered a simply majority to form the government. Pakatan Harapan had won the highest number of seats at 82 followed by Perikatan Nasional with 73.

Meanwhile, the police have urged party supporters to cooperate and ensure the smooth flow of events in the country and help keep peace in the country.

In a statement here, Chief of Brickfields District Police, ACP Amihizam Abdul Shukor called on the people, especially party supporters to adhere to all laws and regulations to ensure that the country’s democratic processes are carried out smoothly.

This should also include keeping out provocative statements in the social media that raises communal and religious sentiments, the statement said.