Parliament: Johari Abdul elected new Speaker

New Dewan Rakyat Speaker Johari Abdul takes his oath to serve the country.

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 19 – Pakatan Harapan’s Johari Abdul was elected as the new Dewan Rakyat Speaker at the first meeting of the First Session of the 15th Parliament which began here today.

The former Gurun assemblyman, who relinquished his position as state assemblyman on Sunday, Dec 18, garnered a total of 147 votes against the other candidate Mohd Radzi Sheikh Ahmad who got 74 votes.

The election of the speaker was the first item in today’s agenda in Parliament. This was followed with the Speaker’s oath taking and starting off the new parliament session.

This was followed by all elected Members of Parliament taking their oath to serve the country and honour the country’s Federal Constitution.

The first to take the oath was Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.