Sivakumar dropped, Dzulkifli, Gobind Singh back in new Cabinet line-up

Photo grab from RTM livestream.

PUTRAJAYA, Dec 12: Several names were back in the new Cabinet line-up announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim just as several names were dropped, in what was described as a move in keeping with the current needs.

Among those who were dropped from the Cabinet were Human Resources Minister Sivakumar who would be replaced by Steven Sim, while the new Health Minister is Dr. Dzulkefly Ahmad, replacing Dr. Zaliha Mustafa. Dr. Zaliha would fill in the porfolio as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Federal Territories).

Among the new names were EPF CEO, Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan, who has been appointed as the Finance Minister II, while Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim remains Finance Minister.

Gobind Singh Deo returned to the Cabinet as Digital Minister while Zambry Abdul Kadir is now Minister of HIgher Education. He previously held the Foreign Minister portfolio.

Apart from Anwar Ibrahim, other ministers who have retained their respective portfolios are Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Transport Minister Anthony Loke Siew Fook, Home Minister Datuk Saifuddin Nasution.