Ninth PM of Malaysia is Ismail Sabri Yaakob

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 20 – The King or Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah has named Umno’s Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob as Malaysia’s ninth prime minister after being satisfied that he commanded the confidence of the majority in Parliament.

In a statement issued following a meeting between the King and several Malay Rulers, the Comptroller of the Royal Household Datuk Indera Ahmad Fadil Shamsuddin said His Majesty hoped the appointment would end Malaysia’s political instability and allow the government to focus on the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Member Parliament for Bera, Sabri Yaakob, who served as a Deputy Prime Minister under the Perikatan Nasional government for few months, will be sworn in on Saturday, 2.30 pm as the new prime minister.

The special meeting between the King and the Malay Rulers at the Istana Negara started at 2.30pm today and concluded around 4 pm.