Ministers, deputies to pass 3 months of salary into COVID-19 disaster trust fund

KUALA LUMPUR, May 31 – As a show of their support to the enhanced financial package or PEMERKASA+, Cabinet ministers and their deputies will not be taking three months pay effective June this year, said Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

As what was done during the first Movement Control Order period, the ministers will once again work without salaries for the three months and their monies will be channelled into the Disaster Trust Fund, the prime minister said during the announcement of the special financial aid package today, which was aired live by national news agency BERNAMA.

The special stimulus package to tide through the MCO-3 and the challenges of the pandemic, were aimed at fulfilling three objectives, namely to boost the health sector which has been close to crumbling under the heavy weight of combating the COVID-19 pandemic, help the people whose livelihoods have been affected by the closing of various economic activities, and to sustain the small businesses badly affected by the pandemic.