Malaysian Press Institute to continue to support growth of local journalists

Malaysian Press Institute President Datuk Yong Soo Heong at the MPI-PETRONAS Malaysian Journalists Night 2024.

KUALA LUMPUR, June 12: The Malaysian Press Institute will continue to enhance its training modules for local journalists so that they can remain on top of their game, said MPI President Datuk Yong Soo Heong at the recently held MPI-PETRONAS Malaysian Journalists Night 2024.

Knowledgeable speakers and trainers will be invited including in the prudent use of AI to enhance productivity and clarity, all for the betterment of journalism in the country, he said.

“All these are not just for young journalists but also the senior ones so that they can be on top of their game when dealing with sensitive matters like the 3R’s. At the end of the day, we would like them to expand their horizons and enhance their three E’s – exposure, experience and expertise.

“MPI is aware of the tough challenges affecting the media industry, both locally and abroad. In this respect, MPI and media organisations believe that government ministries, departments and agencies, as well as the local business sector can help to sustain good journalism by playing a stronger supportive role, both financially and in terms of quality and strategic content.”

The event was attended by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, Minister of Communictions Fahmi Fadzil, Secretary General of Communications Ministry Datuk Mohamad Fauzi Md Isa as well as President and CEO of Petronas Tan Sri Tengku Muhammad Taufik Tengku Aziz.

Veteran journalist, Khalidah Adibah Amin was honoured as the National Journalism Laureate during the event while a total of 118 journalists took home awards for their winning reports in various categories under the MPI-Petronas Malaysian Journalism Awards (HKM) 2023.

Winners of the first prize in their respective category took home RM10,000, while second prize winners received RM3,000 each and the third place winners received RM2,000. MPI received a total of 488 entries for the 2023 awards for excellence in journalism.

— WE