Updated: Klang Valley, Melaka to move to Phase 3 of NRP Oct 1

Under Phase 2 and 3 of the National Recovery Plan, both government official functions and private sector events including workshops can be held with 50 percent capacity and in line with other SOPs in place.

PUTRAJAYA, Sept 29 — Kuala Lumpur, Selangor and Putrajaya and Melaka will be moved to phase 3 of the National Recovery Plan, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Sabri Ismail Yaakob announced today.

Kedah will move into Phase 2 of the NRP, which will effectively put all the states past from Phase 1, and will be in Phase 2, 3 and 4 as the Covid-19 numbers ease in the country.

In a press statement issued via the Prime Minister’s Office today, Sabri said the decision was made during a meeting with the Special Committee on Pandemic Management following the assessment made by the Ministry of Health and the National Security Council on the current risks.

He said that while the trend in the number of daily Covid-19 cases remained uncertain, the reinfection rate remained below one percent and this was indication that the number of cases will go down. The number of cases in intensive care units (ICU) have also come down.

As of Sept 28, a total of 85.1 percent of the Malaysian adult population have already been vaccinated while more than 1.2 million teenagers from age 12 to 17 have been also vaccinated in line with the plan to re-open schools in phases, he said.

Once the rate of 90 percent vaccination is reached for the adult population, interstate travels will be allowed and more economic sectors will be also opened, he said.

Meanwhile, under phases 2 and 3, government official functions and private sector events including seminars and workshops can be held in compliance with the set SOPs, where attendees have to be fully vaccinated, while event capacity will be at 50 percent. Those not vaccinated will have to undergo a Covid-19 saliva test and verified by the organiser or doctor beforehand. Event capacity is 100 percent in states under phase 4.

Besides Kedah, other states in Phase 2 are Perak, Sabah, Johor, Penang and Kelantan. Besides Klang Valley and Melaka the states in Phase 3 are Perlis, Pahang, Terengganu and Sarawak.

Labuan and Negeri Sembilan are in Phase 4.

Details of the SOPs according to the phases can be found at the National Security Council website at www.mkn.gov.my