Big plans for Ipoh railway station to boost Perak’s economy

Photo credit: Md Husain Ali Rajon, Ipoh Railway Station FB

TAIPING, March 10: The Ministry of Transport (MOT) will continue with the Ipoh Railway Integrated Development (iRide) plan, says its minister, Anthony Loke.

He said the government is giving attention to the iRide project as it is expected to generate a positive multiplier effect on Perak’s economy.

Previously, the iRide development plan covering an area of 78 hectares around Keretapi Tanah Melayu Bhd (KTMB) Ipoh station was launched on Oct 10, 2019.

The collaboration project of the Railway Asset Corporation (RAC) and Menteri Besar Incorporated (MB Inc) is expected to develop an area of 27 hectares in an integrated manner as a transport hub.

Loke said the MOT has given priority to the project and is only waiting for the Request For Proposal (RFP) bidding because it has been delayed since it was launched in October 2019 and there was a change in government other than the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Despite the delay, the government basically intends to continue this project as soon as possible and the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah has been informed of the progress of the project when I spoke to him recently as he hoped the project can continue,” Loke told reporters here yesterday.

Loke also said MOT together with KTMB will relaunch the special KL-Ipoh ETS Express service operation outside the festive season in the near future.

“The express train will operate outside the festive season, daily with at least one or two trains per day.

“The re-introduction of the express service will help those who often go back and forth in a day between the two cities, as it shortens the travel time from two hours and 40 minutes to just two hours,” he said.

Earlier, Loke inaugurated the Taiping Member of Parliament and State Assemblyman Community Centre, which was also attended by Housing and Local Government Minister Nga Kor Ming, who is also Perak DAP chairman, and Deputy Education Minister, Wong Kah Woh, who is also Taiping Member of Parliament.