(Updated) Anwar Names His Cabinet Members, Takes On Finance Portfolio

Updated with list of Cabinet Ministers.

PUTRAJAYA, Dec 2 – Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim today announced the long-awaited list of men and women who will be in his downsized Cabinet following his appointment as head of the government by the King, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, on Nov 24 following the general election.

Anwar said he will also take on the portfolio of Finance Minister while Zahid Hamidi was named the Deputy Prime Minister.

Mohamad Sabu was named Minister of Agriculture and Food Security.

Anwar made the announcement after presenting his full list of the line-up to the King, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah for consent this morning.

BN Deputy Chairman and Rembau MP, Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan given a portfolio in the new Cabinet.

The new premier kept his list short as stated earlier that there will not be too many ministers or ambassadors with ministerial status so as to reduce the expenditure. Anwar also “forgot” to mention the name of the Human Resources Minister in his speech, Sivakumar Varatharaju. A full list provided post announcement had his name on the list at the bottom. The deputy ministers list will be announced later, Anwar said.

Anwar said the focus of the government will be in reviving the economy.

The new Cabinet members are expected to attend a special meeting on Monday to discuss and finalise new government policies and on rules for ministers in running their ministries.

The following is the line-up of the new Malaysian Cabinet ministers and their portfolios.