Anti-Party Hopping Bill Passed with 209 votes

KUALA LUMPUR, July 28 – The Malaysian Parliament today passed the anti-party hopping Bill following a two-day debate by Members of Parliament after its second reading was tabled on Wednesday by the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob. A total of 209 MPs voted yes to the Bill.

In presenting the Bill, Ismail said the government took seriously the actions of changing parties or “party jumping” or “defection”, “party jumping” and “floor crossing”.

It has eroded the mandate or trust of the people who elect their representatives in the Dewan Rakyat.

Opposition members who supported the passing of the Bill pointed out throughout the debate how the act of party-changing caused the Pakatan Harapan government to fall only two years after having been given the mandate to rule the country in the 14th General Election.

The opposition party had also signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the current PN government to ensure that the party-hopping behaviour of MPs be brought to an end with severe punishments under the Constitutional Bill (Amendment) (No. 3) 2022 and Prohibition Prohibition of Parliament Members Swapping Parties.

While some MPs also expressed concerns that the Bill may not really solve the problems brought on by party-hopping, the majority of them expressed that it would be a start to stop the “frogs from jumping” and bringing damage including instability with quick-changing governments.